Richland School District Holds Special Election


Voters in the Richland School District took to the polls last night in a special election. The reason for the election, according to Wahpeton Daily News, was that organizers were motivated by issues including frustration over handling of communication and misconduct investigations. The investigations stemmed from accusations of sexual misconduct and hazing among male teenage students, according to the Fargo Forum.
The special election was called in an attempt to recall board members Josh Mjoness, Lisa Amundson and Sarah Myers.
Amundson has been on the board since 2013, Myers since 2014 and Mjoness since 2017.
Voter turnout was steady for the election. An hour into the day, 66 voters had cast ballots. By 11:30, which was 2-and-a-half hours into voting, 109 voters had cast ballots. As of 4 p.m. this afternoon, the number of voters had jumped to 246. 
According to business manager Kendra Dockter, 401 voters cast ballots throughout the day. Broken down by site, Christine had 93 voters; Colfax, 172 and Abercrombie, 136.
In area one, which includes a portion of Eagle and Walcott townships, the incumbent Josh Mjoness was soundly defeated by challenger Scott Hendrickson 205 to 155. Mjoness had just been elected on July 17, 2017.
In area three, which encompasses the village of Abercrombie, board member Lisa Amundson was defeated by challenger Amy Lehmann 233 to 157. 
And in area six, which encompasses the village of Colfax, challenger Jody Lingen defeated incumbent Sarah Myers 208 to 122. Myers had just been elected on July 17, 2017.
None of the nominated candidates were available for comment Thursday night following the release of the election results.