Primary Election Day in Minnesota


It’s Primary Election Day in Minnesota. In a quick look at local races, in Clay County, four men are running for the office of Clay County Sheriff—they are Mark Empting, Mark Hendrickson, Jason Hicks and Scott Steffes.  And the race for Governor of Minnesota should be a hotly contested one as well, with Jeff Johnson and Tim Pawlenty among those running for the Republican bid. Attorney General Lori Swanson is running for the DFL nomination. And the special election to fill out the term of former Senator Al Franken has nine people running—including Tina Smith, who currently holds the seat. And the seat currently held by Amy Klobuchar is up. She’s running for reelection, among others. Polls close at 8 p-m.