Grand Forks Red River student named NDHSAA Distinguished Student


Camden Larsen, a junior at Grand Forks Red River High School was named the 2020-2021 North Dakota High School Activities Association and Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student. Interviews were held via video conference on April 29.

Kearyn Nelsen of Leeds High School was chosen runner up. The other finalists interviewed were:

Kasey Stegman, Drayton High School

Emma Thorsgard, Northwood High School

Elizabeth Schanilec, Midway High School

Sydney Mosset, Hazen High School

The six finalists were selected from applications sent in by high school principals from across the state.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student program was developed to recognize deserving young people who are the “backbone” of interscholastic activities, not necessarily the leader, but the individual whose participation in high school activities strengthens the program for participants, the school and the community. Applicants are students entering their senior year. The student must be a participant as a player, manager, statistician or other role in at least one NDHSAA sponsored activity. The student must be a good citizen and role model to his/her peers as well as a contributor to his/her school and community.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student recipient receives a Farmers Union Insurance sponsored $2,000 scholarship to the college of his/her choice. He/she is invited to be the Grand Marshall of the NDHSAA “Parade of Champions” as well as participating in other activities such as serving as the NDHSAA spokesperson for High School Activities Month, promoting the values of activity programs and participating in awarding of trophies at major NDHSAA state contests. The runner-up will receive a $1,000 scholarship of his/her choice, publication in the Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events. The other four finalists receive a $500 scholarship to the college of his/her choice, publication in the Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events.

The following students were honored as their school’s 2020-2021 Distinguished Student and submitted applications to the NDHSAA for consideration as the NDHSAA/Farmers Union Distinguished Student:

Megan Rising - Beach

Brooklyn Benno - Des Lacs Burlington

Sydney Mosset - Hazen

Tymber Boldt - Flasher

Laura Muggli - Grant County

Elizabeth Dean - South Heart

Stetson Urlacher - New England

Alexa St. Pierre - Trenton

Gabriela Oberg - Washburn

Grace Vetter - Bismarck St. Mary’s

Gracie Tjernlund - Kulm

Patrick Wrigley - Shiloh

Madelyn Schmidt - Kidder County

Kearyn Nelsen - Leeds

Kinzley Knutson - North Star

Jacob Vaagen - Devils Lake

Elizabeth Schanilec - Midway

Alex Huber - Edgeley

Ann Estvold - Lakota

Miriam Carignan - Walhalla

Grant Meehl - Oakes

Olivia Tuhy - Lisbon

Ty Stromberg - Larimore

Jake Doll - Finley Sharon

Natalie Hunter - Cavalier

Julia Dusek - Grafton

Emma Thorsgard - Northwood

Skya Brandon - Hatton

Jenna Maker - Northern Cass

Josh Dixon - Central Cass

Sierra Strenge - Wyndmere

Madison Steffens - Fairmount

Abigail Post - Hankinson

Sawyer Satrom - May-Port CG

Karl Swenson - Kindred

Hanna Magnuson - Hillsboro

Kasey Stegman - Drayton

Jazmine Hill - Wahpeton

Clara Hanson - Grand Forks Central

Camden Larsen - Grand Forks Red River

Lydia Mattern - Fargo Shanley

Isabelle Puhl - Fargo North

Alice Carlson - Fargo South

Taylor Fey - Fargo Davies