South High to Host Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony


Fargo South High School will hold an induction celebration for their 2018 Hall of Fame nominees on September 28. The event will include a social, dinner, and program featuring the four 2018 Hall of Fame nominees. Event tickets are $10 each and are available by calling 701.446.2011.

Two South High alumni and two former faculty members will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2018. They are:

John Kelley, retired faculty member

Fargo South instructor and coach John Kelley was a teacher who influenced students in a special way and gave them inspiration to achieve and be proud of their accomplishments. Mr. Kelley was a teacher and coach at South from its inception in the fall of 1967 until his retirement in 2001. He was an assistant football coach for 34 years and assistant wrestling coach for 11 years. In his tenure, Mr. Kelley taught physical education and science, and was nominated for the Presidential Award of Excellence for science education.

As a line and special teams coach, Mr. Kelley helped the Bruins to seven state titles and three second-place finishes. The North Dakota High School Coaches Association recognized him with Assistant Coach of the Year honors.

Andy Mariner, 1996 graduate

Fargo South 1996 graduate and U.S. Navy Commander Andy Mariner has been the commanding officer of the Navy's Fighter Weapons School, TOPGUN, since 2016.

Commander Mariner graduated with merit from the U.S. Naval Academy in 2000, earning a degree in aerospace engineering. He graduated from TOPGUN in 2006 and went on to earn a master's degree in national security and strategic studies from the U.S. Naval War College. He has flown more than 3,000 flight hours on multiple naval aircraft, including numerous combat missions in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Inherent Resolve. Cmdr. Mariner has earned numerous awards, including the Meritorious Service Medal, Navy Commander Medal, Navy Achievement Medal and various campaign and unit citations.

Robert Narveson, 1980 graduate

Robert Narveson has taken a small drug store chain and vaulted it toward the top of the industry, all the while making the business more employee and customer friendly. The 1980 Fargo South graduate has been president and CEO of Plymouth, Minnesota-based Thrifty White Drug Pharmacy for nearly 20 years. Under his leadership, the company doubled in size and changed its structure to a 100 percent employee stock ownership plan. Mr. Narveson’s company was named Pharmacy Innovator of the Year twice by Chain Drug Review in 2014 and Drug Store News in 2016. Robert is a past board chairman for the National Association of Chain Drug Stores.

Mr. Narveson has also served as vice chairman for Premier Value Alliance and as a University of Minnesota pharmacy advisory board member.

Dellis Schrock, retired faculty member

From years of dedicated service that included teaching, politics, and mission work, Dellis Schrock was a teacher who valued the importance of standards and community involvement.

A native of Grand Island, Nebraska, Mr. Schrock holds three college degrees. In addition to many years as the English department chair at South until 1993, he held leadership positions in various state and local education associations, including serving as the president of the Fargo Education Association. He was honored numerous times, including PTA Teacher of the Year. Away from school, he was the mayor of Casselton and member of the Central Cass School Board.