Baesler Recognizes National Blue Ribbon Schools


State Superintendent Kirsten Baesler on Monday congratulated three North Dakota schools for being named as “National Blue Ribbon Schools” for 2018.

They are Central Valley School, a K-12 school in Buxton, a Traill County community about 25 miles south of Grand Forks; Freedom Elementary, in West Fargo; and Richland Elementary, in Abercrombie, a Richland County community about 20 miles north of Wahpeton. The Department of Education recognizes schools in which students achieve high learning standards or register substantial improvements in their learning.

All three North Dakota schools were recognized as “exemplary high performing schools.”

Education Secretary Betsy DeVos announced the chosen schools at a news conference in Washington, D.C., on Monday