Leah Juelke Named a Top Inspiring Teacher in North Dakota and Honored With $10,000 from the National University System - Sanford Teacher Award


In recognition of inspirational teaching nationwide, Leah Juelke of Fargo South High School has been named the North Dakota recipient of the first-ever National University System-Sanford Teacher Award. The 51 teachers, representing each state, and the District of Columbia, each receive $10,000 for demonstrating their commitment to creating inspirational and harmonious classrooms that support student development and achievement. The award is in the name of philanthropist T. Denny Sanford, who is committed to supporting inspiring teaching nationwide through PreK-12 programs that are being expanded nationally by the National University System. Each of Tuesday’s teacher recipients qualify for a chance to be recognized as the national winner of the Sanford Teacher Award, which will be named in early 2019.