Chairman Hoeven Announces Senate Passage of Stigler Act Amendments of 2018

 Senator John Hoeven

Senator John Hoeven, chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, announced Senate passage of the Stigler Act Amendments of 2018 with an amendment supported by Senators James Lankford and Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma.

H.R. 2606 repeals certain provisions in Federal law regarding the restricted lands of members of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma.

The legislation is specific to the allotted tribal member lands of the five civilized tribes of Oklahoma- Choctaw, Chickasaw, Mvskoke (Creek), Cherokee, and Seminole. It amends the Stigler Act of 1947 by removing the one-half degree Indian blood quantum requirement needed to retain the restricted status of inherited allotted tribal member lands and brings parity to probate related matters in Oklahoma.