Burgum Declares Winter Storm Emergency


North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum has declared a winter storm emergency for the storm that hit much of North Dakota March 13-15.

The governor also granted the first group of waivers for school districts that canceled classes because of the severe winter weather.

The following counties were declared part of the winter storm emergency: Foster, Grant, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, McLean, Nelson, Steele, Towner and Wells. In addition, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe was included.

More than $1 million was spent statewide on snow removal following the storm.

The governor has waived a total of 44 days for 19 school districts to this point in time.