North Dakota Department of Public Instruction superintendent Kirsten Baesler has announced the selection of 23 members from across North Dakota to serve on the Family Engagement Cabinet. Baesler says it’s a way for her to hear advice from families about how to improve North Dakota education.

Among those selected are DeAnn Bjornson, Fargo; Kristi Engelstad, West Fargo; Jacqueline Frost-Hodny, Lankin; Bree Anne Hinojos, Devils Lake; Suzanne Kilichowski, Minto; Jayce Schumacher, Grafton; Courtney Davis Souvannasacd, Grand Forks; and Greg Vandal, Fargo.

Baesler says the group are parents of children in elementary, middle and high school. There are parents of children who haven’t started school. The members are spread across the state and live in small towns and North Dakota’s larger communities.

The group will meet four times a year, with the first meeting being on May 23.