Alexis Scott announces campaign for Fargo School Board

Photo by: Alexis Scott
Photo by: Alexis Scott

(Fargo, ND) -- There are five spots coming open for the Fargo School Board, and now a challenger has surfaced for one of them.

Local parent Alexis Scott has announced her candidacy for the School Board, focusing on three key areas: amplifying family and educator voices, addressing achievement gaps among multicultural students and decline of student achievement over the last 5 years, and engaging parents and families to be active partners in their students' learning journey.

Alexis has resided in Fargo with her family since 2017, first working as a multi-cultural and bilingual family advocate for high-risk youth & families, she became familiar with the opportunities and barriers families face in our local education system especially as an immigrant. In 2021, Alexis shifted into professional workforce development and has taken personal pride in advocating for families and educators in our community as a parent and challenger to the status quo.

“I am excited to announce my candidacy and believe my diverse personal and professional background, history of strong community advocacy and mother of 4 boys in Fargo Public Schools makes me uniquely qualified to serve as a leader on the Fargo School Board. Simply, I want to feel confident in every child’s learning journey in Fargo Public Schools and revitalize the pride, prestige and outcomes of Fargo Public Schools.”

Scott currently serves as a Steering Committee member of FMWF Chamber of Commerce Professionals of Color & Chair of Membership Recruitment. She has been involved in several community organizations including, the United Way’s 2021 35 Under 35 Leadership Program, 2021 participant with the NDWBC’s Leadership Program and 2022 Teacher Appreciation Coordinator at Centennial Elementary. Alexis lives with her husband, Andrew and sons, Jack, Parker, Theodore & Calum in the Centennial neighborhood in Fargo.

Current board members Jennifer Benson, Brian Nelson, Robin Nelson, David Paulson and President Rebecca Knutson will all have their seats up for grabs this coming June.