North Dakota 2023 Teacher of the Year finalists announced

Courtesy of: ND Department of Public Instruction
Courtesy of: ND Department of Public Instruction

(Bismarck, ND) -- Four North Dakota teachers have been selected as finalists for the ND 2023 Teacher of the Year.

State Superintendent Kirsten Baesler announced the list earlier today, each person in contest for the title, a $15,000 grant, and to be entered for the National Teacher of the Year award.

“As a state, we want to lift up our educators and give them the honor and respect they richly deserve,” said Superintendent Baesler “They have handled some of the toughest educational challenges in the history of our state in recent years, and they have done it with confidence and style. These four finalists are exemplars of excellence in their profession, and all of North Dakota should be proud of them.”

The list includes Bismarck Centennial Elementary teacher Abby DuBord, Northern Cass Public School third-grade English teacher Megan Margerum, Grand Forks Red River High School English instructor Ivona Todorovic, and Linton High School Business education instructor Megan Wald.