James Kaczor Has Been Named To The Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

     North Dakota State University linebacker James Kaczor was named to the 2021 Buck Buchanan Award watch list on Thursday, August 5. The Buck Buchanan Award is presented annually by Stats Perform and given to the top defensive player in the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision.

     Kaczor was on the All-Missouri Valley Football Conference first team along with being named to the All-American second team in the spring season. He was second on NDSU with 70 tackles, two pass breakups, and three quarterback hurries.

     North Dakota State has had nine Buck Buchanan Award finalists, including 2014 winner Kyle Emanuel.


2021 Buck Buchanan Award Preseason Watch List

Defensive Linemen

Jared Brinkman, Northern Iowa (2020-21 finalist)

Isaiah Chambers, McNeese (2020-21 finalist)

DJ Coleman, Jacksonville State

Mike Greene, James Madison (2020-21 finalist)

Malik Hamm, Lafayette

Jahari Kay, Sam Houston (2020-21 finalist)

Jordan Lewis, Southern (2020-21 recipient)

Shaundre Mims, Charleston Southern

Kobie Turner, Richmond



Troy Andersen, Montana State

Logan Backhaus, South Dakota State

Ryan Greenhagen, Fordham (2020-21 finalist)

Willie Eubanks III, The Citadel (2019 finalist)

Tre Jones, Central Connecticut State

James Kaczor, North Dakota State

La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis, Southern Utah (2020-21 finalist)

Titus Leo, Wagner (2020-21 finalist)

Jace Lewis, Montana

Forrest Rhyne, Villanova

Stone Snyder, VMI (2020-21 finalist)

Jeremiah Tyler, Princeton

Tre Walker, Idaho (2020-21 finalist)

Tristan Wheeler, Richmond (2020-21 finalist)


Defensive Backs

Anthony Adams, Portland State (2019 finalist)

Markquese Bell, Florida A&M

Qua Brown, Southern Illinois

Anthony Budd, Monmouth

Decobie Durant, South Carolina State

Brandon Easterling, Dayton (2019 finalist)

Chris Edmonds, Samford (2020-21 finalist)

Marcis Floyd, Murray State

Nicario Harper, Jacksonville State (2020-21 finalist)

Kordell Jackson, Austin Peay (2019 and 2020-21 finalist)

Ferlando Jordan, Southeastern Louisiana

Zyon McCollum, Sam Houston