A Trio of Bison MBB Players Have Received Summit League Honors

The Summit League has announced its awards for the 2021-22 men’s basketball season. Three NDSU Bison found themselves being honored in the awards. Rocky Kreuser and Sam Griesel were named to the All-Summit League first team, while Tyree Eady was named to the All-Defensive Team.

     Kreuser led the Bison with 16.7 points and 7.7 rebounds per game in conference play. He knocked down 41 percent of his shots from three-point range, and was 80 percent at the free throw line in league games. Kreuser has enshrined himself in Bison history, joining Joe Regnier (1985-89) as the only other player in program history to surpass 1,600 points, 800 rebounds, and 100 blocks in their collegiate careers.

     Griesel was right on the heels of Kreuser averaging 15.2 points, 7.1 rebounds, and 2.9 assists in conference games. He also shot 46 percent from three-point range. Griesel was in elite Summit League company as one of only two players in the conference to average more than 15 points and 7 rebounds while picking up at least 50 assists in conference play.

     Eady was a grinder on the Bison defense helping NDSU to a league best in scoring defense, allowing only 71.4 points per game.

     With this season's All-Summit League first team honor, Kreuser became only the sixth player in school history to earn first team honors twice. Griesel was an All-Summit League second-team honoree last season.

     This marks the third time NDSU had a pair of All-Summit League first team honorees since 2014 (2014 - Taylor Braun and Marshall Bjorklund, 2020 - Vinnie Shahid and Tyson Ward).

     No. 2 seeded NDSU will take on No. 7 seeded Denver in the Summit League Tournament quarterfinals on Saturday at 8:30 p.m. in Sioux Falls, S.D.