NDSU Bison Baseball Nearly Cleaned Out The All-Summit League Honors

North Dakota State Athletics
North Dakota State Athletics

     On Tuesday the North Dakota State baseball team earned eight All-Summit League selections. Head coach Tyler Oakes was also named the Summit League Coach of the Year, the league office announced.

     In his first season at the helm, Oakes guided the Bison to its first Summit League regular season title in program history. NDSU finished the regular season with a 30-17 (17-5 Summit) overall record, marking only the seventh time the program won 30 games in a single season. The Bison were the last Division I team to play a home game after starting the season on the road for their first 37 games. Oakes is now the first coach in Bison Baseball history to win the Summit League Coach of the Year honors.

     Outfielder Calen Schwabe and designated hitter Logan Williams both earned All-Summit League First Team honors.

     Schwabe finished the regular season with a team-high .417 batting average in Summit League play. He racked up 25 hits with 11 RBI and 10 runs scored. The Thompson, N.D., native tallied a 10-game on-base streak, including totaling eight multi-hit games.

     Williams was a dangerous hitter all season long including being one of the most feared hitters in the Summit League. The Kailua, Hawaii native had a .301 batting average that included 25 hits and 22 RBI in conference play. He hit a team-high 11 home runs, which is the most by a Bison in the Division I era. Williams was also named the Summit League Player of the Week on March 28 and earned the Summer League Player of the Month for March.

     Catcher Will Busch, first baseman Brock Anderson, second baseman Druw Sackett, shortstop Peter Brookshaw, outfielder Jack Simonsen, and starting pitcher Evan Sankey were all named to the All-Summit League Second Team.

     Busch earned a second team honor for the first time in his career. In conference play he racked up a team-high nine-game hitting streak. Busch racked up a total of 18 hits with 14 RBI and 13 runs scored.

     Anderson was also a first time second team honoree. The Alexandria, Minn., native registered a .269 batting average and .994 fielding percentage in Summit League play. He added 21 hits that included six doubles and three home runs with 16 RBI and 19 runs scored.

     Sackett earned a spot on the second team for the first time in his career thanks to his stellar play in the field and at the plate. In conference play he tallied a team-high 27 hits and included eight doubles, two home runs, and one triple play. The Fruita, Colo., native posted a .325 batting average at the plate and .920 fielding percentage.

     Brookshaw was the final first time honoree on the second team for NDSU. Offensively he led the Bison with a team-high in both RBI with 23 and runs scored with 20 in Summit League play. Brookshaw recorded 10 multi hit games and seven multi RBI games.

     A pair of Bison in Simonsen and Sankey were both named to the second team for the second time in their collegiate careers.

     Simonsen did it all at the plate for NDSU tallying 16 hits with four doubles, two home runs, and one triple. The Sioux Falls, S.D., native also drove in 11 RBI and scored 14 runs in conference play. Throughout Summit League play he racked up a six-game hit streak and added seven multi-hit games.

     Sankey was solid on the mound all season long, logging a 2.41 ERA in conference play with 27 strikeouts and six walks. In seven appearances he tallied 4 or more strikeouts. Sankey was also named the Summit League Pitcher of the Week twice during the regular season.

     The top-seeded Bison will square off with Omaha in the first round of the Summit League Tournament on Wednesday in Tulsa, Okla. First pitch is scheduled for 12:05 p.m. at J.L. Johnson Stadium, the home field of Oral Roberts.


2022 All-Summit League Teams

All-League First Team

C - Derek Hackman, SDSU

1B - Jake McMurray, ORU

2B - Shaydon Kubo, UNC

3B - Mike Boeve, Omaha

SS - Jackson Loftin, ORU

OF - Caleb Denny, ORU

OF - Calen Schwabe, NDSU

OF - Joshua Cox, ORU

DH - Logan Williams, NDSU

UT - AJ Archambo, ORU

SP - Ledgend Smith, ORU

SP - Caleb Riedel, Omaha

SP - Isaac Coffey, ORU

RP - Ryan Bourassa, SDSU


All-League Second Team

C - Will Busch, NDSU

1B - Brock Anderson, NDSU

2B - Druw Sackett, NDSU

3B - Holden Breeze, ORU

SS - Peter Brookshaw, NDSU

OF - Harrison Denk, Omaha

OF - Nick Mitchell, Western Illinois

OF - Jack Simonsen, NDSU

DH - Dawson Parry, SDSU

UT - Ryan McDonald, SDSU

SP - Mark Timmins, Omaha

SP - Nic McCay, SDSU

SP - Evan Sankey, NDSU

RP - Cade Denton, ORU


Player of the Year: Mike Boeve, Omaha

Pitcher of the Year: Ledgend Smith, ORU

Newcomer of the Year: Caleb Riedel, Omaha

Coach of the Year: Tyler Oakes, NDSU