MSUM WBB Has Been Picked To Finish Ninth In The NSIC

MSUM Dragon Athletics Logo
MSUM Dragon Athletics Logo

     The Minnesota State University Moorhead Women’s Basketball team has been voted to finish fifth in the NSIC North Division and ninth overall in the NSIC preseason coaches poll.

     Women’s basketball head coach Karla Nelson is ready for another season of progression with her program saying, "Looking forward to seeing our young players mature and watching our veterans set up into leadership roles."

     The NSIC regular season championship will be determined by a 22-game conference schedule. Each team will play teams within their division twice (14) and the teams in the other division in the conference once (8). There will be an NSIC North and South Division Champion along with the overall conference champion. If there is a tie in the standings, the conference will award co-champions.

     Senior center Peyton Boom has been named the Dragons’ player to watch this season.

     Coach Nelson had high praise for her senior leader saying, “Peyton comes into the 2022-23 season with a ton of experience and great leadership ability.” Nelson continued, “she has an exceptional lo-post game to go along with one of the best jump shots in the NSIC. She's an exceptional player on both ends of the floor.”

     Last season Boom was an All-NSIC First Team selection after racking up a team-high seven double-doubles. She averaged 16.5 points and 7.4 rebounds per game on 51.1 percent shooting from the floor.


North Division (First place votes) Points

1. Minnesota Duluth (7) 49

2. University of Mary (1) 38

3. Northern State 35

4. St. Cloud State 32

5. MSU Moorhead 31

6. Bemidji State 19

7. Minot State 12

8. Minnesota Crookston 8


South Division (First place votes) Points

1. Minnesota State (6) 48

2. Augustana (2) 41

3. Sioux Falls 36

4. Concordia-St. Paul 34

5. Winona State 18

6. SMSU 17

   Wayne State 17

8. Upper Iowa 13


Overall (First place votes) Points

1. Minnesota State (8) 216

2. Minnesota Duluth (7) 213

3. Augustana (1) 182

4. Sioux Falls 176

5. Concordia-St. Paul 158

6. Northern State 140

7. St. Cloud State 137

8. University of Mary 135

9. MSU Moorhead 133

10. Bemidji State 98

11. Winona State 83

12. Southwest Minnesota State 81

13. Wayne State 58

14. Minot State 42

15. Upper Iowa 40

16. Minnesota Crookston 28