Three Bison Have Earned A Spot On The HERO Sports FCS All-America Team

North Dakota State Athletics Logo
North Dakota State Athletics Logo

     On Thursday, Dec. 8 North Dakota State fullback Hunter Luepke, left tackle Cody Mauch, and defensive end Spencer Waege were named to the HERO Sports All-America Team.

     Luepke is the fifth player in Bison history to earn All-America honors in three separate seasons. The others include kicker/punter Aaron Pederson (1999-01), cornerback Marcus Williams (2011-13), defensive end Greg Menard (2015-16, 2018), and right tackle Cordell Volson (2019-21).

     Luepke is familiar to the national spotlight having been named a first team All-American in 2020 and 2021 as selected by Stats Perform and Phil Steele, and earned first team honors by HERO Sports in 2021. Mauch is a two-time All-American having earned second team honors from the Associated Press and being named to the third team by HERO Sports in 2021. Wage is also a two-time All-American with second team honors by the AFCA and a third team honoree from Phil Steele in 2020-21.

     Luepke, Mauch, and Waege have all been previously named to the All-Missouri Valley Football Conference first team.

     No. 3 seeded North Dakota State (10-2) will host No. 6 seeded Samford (11-1) in the NCAA Division I Football Championship quarterfinals on Friday, Dec. 9 at 6 p.m.