Clay County, Statewide Races Decided


It was primary election day Tuesday across Minnesota. In the Clay County Commissioner race in District 4, Mari Dailey received 495 votes, or 39.16 percent of the vote; followed by Kevin Campbell with 462 votes, or 36.55 percent of the vote. Mark Empting received the top number of votes for Clay County Sheriff, with two-thousand 845, or 38.32 percent of the vote; followed by Scott Steffes, with one-thousand 898, or 25.57 percent of the vote. On the statewide level, for US Senate on the Republican ticket, Jim Newberger received the nod, with more than 69 percent of the vote; on the DFL ticket, Amy Klobuchar received 95 percent of the vote. That sets up Newberger vs. Klobuchar in the primary election. In the special election, to fill Senator Al Franken's seat in the Senate, Karin Housley, the Republican candidate, will take on Tina Smith, the DFL candidate.