NDSU WBB picked second in Summit League Preseason Coaches Poll

North Dakota State Athletics Logo
North Dakota State Athletics Logo

The North Dakota State women’s basketball team has been tabbed with its highest preseason ranking in program history after being selected second in the Summit League Preseason Coaches Poll.

A pair of Bison were selected to the Preseason Summit League First Team in Heaven Hamling and Elle Evans. Hamling was an All-Summit League First Team honoree last season, averaging a team-high 16.5 points per game. Evans earned the Summit League Freshman of the Year award last season, averaging 13.4 points and 4.9 rebounds per game. North Dakota State is the only Summit League team to have two players on the preseason First Team.

The Bison will tip off the 2023-24 season on Nov. 6 at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, S.D. against Creighton at 6 p.m.


2023-24 Summit League Preseason Poll:

Preseason Summit League Player of the Year
Kacie Borowicz, North Dakota

Preseason All-Summit League First Team
Kacie Borowicz, North Dakota, Gr., G (19.4 ppg/4.0 rpg/4.8 apg/82.4 FT%)*

Hannah Cooper, Oral Roberts, Gr., G (20.4 ppg/4.6 rpg/3.9 apg/2.5 spg)

Elle Evans, North Dakota State, So., G (13.8 ppg/4.7 rpg/83.7 FT%)

Heaven Hamling, North Dakota State, Sr., G (17.2 ppg/ 5.1 rpg/ 3.9 apg)

Grace Larkins, South Dakota, Jr., G (18.3 ppg/8.7 rpg/4.9 apg/2.1 spg)

Paige Meyer, South Dakota State, Jr., G (9.6 ppg/3.2 apg/2.4 rpg/54.5 FG%)


Preseason All-Summit League Second Team
Carley Duffney, South Dakota, So., F (12.2 ppg/4.2 rpg/88.5 FT%)

Makayla Minett, Denver, Gr., F (8.1 ppg/8.8 rpg/2.9 bpg)

Tori Nelson, South Dakota State, Sr., F (7.8 ppg/3.1 rpg/2.2 apg)

Emma Smith, Denver, So., G (13.4 ppg/4.8 rpg/2.9 apg/80.7 FT%)

Ruthie Udoumoh, Oral Roberts, Gr., G (11.8 ppg/7.5 rpg/2.5 apg/2.0 spg)


*Preseason player of the year automatically earns a spot on the first team

**stats from 2022-23 Summit League games

2023-24 Summit League Women’s Basketball Preseason Coaches' Poll

Rank (First place votes)

1. South Dakota State (27)

2. North Dakota State (5)

3. South Dakota (2)

4. North Dakota

5. Oral Roberts (1)

6. Omaha

7. Denver (1)

8. St. Thomas

9. Kansas City