College Football Playoff approves 5+7 model

The College Football Playoff is officially expanding.

The CFP board of managers unanimously approved a model that will guarantee the five highest-ranked conference champions' inclusion in the expanded 12-team field this fall, along with the next seven highest-ranked teams. The CFP intentionally won't refer to the Group of 5 in its description of the format, because there is a chance that a champion from one of the Power 4 conferences finishes ranked below the top champion from the American Athletic Conference, Conference USA, Mountain West, Sun Belt or Mid-American Conference.