South Dakota primary election results: Noem, Thune, Johnson move on to general

Photo by: Governor Kristi Noem - Twitter
Photo by: Governor Kristi Noem - Twitter

(Pierre, SD) -- South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem is moving forward to the general election after clinching the Republican primary.

Noem defeated challenger Steven Haggard by a large margin in Tuesday's race for the Republican nomination for South Dakota governor. She will face Democrat Jamie Smith and Libertarian Tracey Quint in November.

Meanwhile, Incumbent John Thune is the clear winner in the Republican primary for U.S. Senate. Thune is headed to the general election, defeating Bruce Whalen and Mark Mowry.

And U.S. Representative Dusty Johnson is moving forward. Johnson defeated Taffy Howard by a comfortable margin in Tuesday's Republican primary. The South Dakota Democratic Party isn't fielding a candidate in this race. Johnson will face off with Libertarian candidate Collin Dupree in November.