Walz reelected in Minnesota; North Dakota reelects incumbents to Senate, House

REGION --  The 2022 election saw its fair share of ups and downs, with several incumbents winning their reelection bids -- and North Dakota's statewide measures splitting. In Minnesota, an incumbent Governor retains his seat, while other officeholders retain theirs.

In North Dakota:

With more than 90 percent of the vote tallied in North Dakota as of late Tuesday night, Senator John Hoeven walked away with a victory, defeating challengers Rick Becker and Katrina Christiansen. Hoeven finished with 56 percent of the vote, while Christiansen and Becker finished with 25 percent and 18 percent, respectively. Congressman Kelly Armstrong overwhelmingly won reelection for North Dakota's lone US House seat, defeating challenger Cara Mund by nearly 25 percentage points. 

Michael Howe was elected to the Secretary of State's position, replacing Alvin "Al" Jaeger, who decided not to run for reelection. Howe defeated his Democratic challenger, Jeffrey Powell, by nearly 36 percentage points.

Drew Wrigley, running for the Attorney General's position, defeated challenger Timothy Lamb by more than 40 percentage points. Wrigley was appointed the Attorney General by Governor Doug Burgum after the sudden death of Wayne Stenehjem.

Doug Goehring, Julie Fedorchak, Sheri Haugen-Hoffart and Brian Kroshus were all re-elected to their respective positions within state government.

North Dakota Measure One, which would set term limits for the Governor and State Legislature, passed by a margin of 63 percent "yes" to 36 percent "no". North Dakota Measure Two, which would legalize cannabis, failed by a margin of 55 percent to 44 percent.

Locally, Cass County Sheriff Jesse Jahner won reelection, while Kim Hegvik edged out Ryan Younggren for the Cass County State's Attorney's post. Tony Grindberg and Duane Breitling were elected to the Cass County Commission in their respective districts.

For complete North Dakota results, click here.

In Minnesota:

Incumbents were reelected to statewide offices across Minnesota.

Democratic Governor Tim Walz, along with his running mate, Peggy Flanagan, will return to the Minnesota State Capitol, having defeated Republican challenger Scott Jensen and his running mate, Matt Birk. Walz, behind a strong showing in the greater Minneapolis-St. Paul area, led by nearly 10 percentage points late Tuesday night.

In the Minnesota Secretary of State's race, incumbent DFL'er Steve Simon was well on his way to victory, leading challenger Kim Crockett by 11 percentage points.

In one of the closer races, DFL incumbent Keith Ellison seemed poised for reelection to the Attorney General's post, leading challenger Jim Schultz by a three-point margin with nearly 80 percent of the precincts reporting.

Locally, Moorhead Mayor Shelly Carlson won reelection. She soundly defeated challenger Kevin Nese Shores by a margin of 82 percent to 16 percent.

Moorhead residents resoundingly passed a measure seeking to impose a city-wide sales and use tax at the rate of one-half of one percent for a period of twenty-two (22) years commencing on April 1, 2023, for the purpose of issuing sales tax bonds to provide funding for the construction of a single project consisting of a regional library and community center. 64 percent of the voters approved the measure.

For complete Minnesota results, click here.