New North Dakota State House, Senate Majority Leaders chosen

Photos by: North Dakota State Legislature
Photos by: North Dakota State Legislature

(Bismarck, ND) -- The North Dakota Senate and House Republican caucuses have elected new leadership Monday night at their respective caucus meetings in Bismarck.  

The Senate republicans elected Senator David Hogue (District 38-Minot) for Senate Majority Leader, Senator Jerry Klein (District 14-Harvey) for Assistant Majority Leader and Senator Kristin Roers (District 27-Fargo) for Senate Republican Caucus Chair.

“I’m really looking forward to serving my colleagues and the people of North Dakota,” said Hogue, who has served in the State Senate since 2009.

The House republicans elected Representative Mike Lefor (District 37-Dickinson) for House Majority Leader, Representative Glenn Bosch (District 30-Bismarck) for Assistant Majority Leader, and Representative Austen Schauer (District 13—Fargo) for Caucus Chair. 

"I’m excited for this challenge, we have a great agenda, including workforce recruitment, childcare, pension reform, tax relief, and lowering the cost of government," said Lefor in statement released to WDAY Radio. "We have a fantastic group of republican legislators this session and I can’t wait to get started.”

Former Senate Majority Leader Rich Wardner and House Majority Leader Chet Pollert announced their retirement earlier this year, leading to the election of new leadership for the 2023 Legislative Session, as well as new Assistant Leaders, Caucus Chairs, and Speaker of the House.

Committee Chairs and members will be selected during Organizational Session the first week of December.

The 2023 Legislative Session begins January 3rd.