Area mayors, Cass County Commission sign emergency declaration


The Commissioners of Cass County, along with the Mayors of Fargo, Moorhead and West Fargo, have declared a state of emergency related to COVID-19.

In Monday’s Commission meeting, Commission Chairman Chad Peterson says the declaration is not “to panic anyone.” The declaration is to allow federal dollars and equipment to limit hardships and impacts of Cass County residents resulting from COVID-19.

Commissioner Ken Pawluk, of Fargo, says “we need to extend social distancing, so people are not in close contact.”

Fargo Mayor Tim Mahoney, West Fargo Commission President Bernie Dardis and Moorhead Mayor Johnathan Judd were all in attendance Monday to sign the declarations jointly.