ND Board of Higher Education Finalists Chosen


The finalists have been named for two open spots on North Dakota’s State Board of Higher Education, the board which oversees the 11 public colleges and universities in North Dakota.

Board member Greg Stemen, former vice president, resigned in September.

Finalists for his unexpired term, which ends June 30, are: Tim Mihalick, Minot; Thomas Atkinson, Bismarck; and Lonnie Pederson, Oxbow. Finalists for a new four-year term, beginning July 1, are Mihalick, Atkinson and Pederson.

Finalists for a four-year term, beginning July 1, currently held by incumbent Nick Hacker are Hacker, Bismarck; Mike Seminary, Bismarck; and Taya Spelhaug, West Fargo.

Governor Doug Burgum will make the final choices, which are then subject to North Dakota Senate confirmation.