Candidates for Moorhead City Council in upcoming election finalized

Photo by: City of Moorhead - Facebook
Photo by: City of Moorhead - Facebook

(Moorhead, MN) -- The candidates for Moorhead City Council in the upcoming November election have been finalized.

Mayor Shelly Carlson will face off with Kevin Shores, a Navy veteran who has run for mayor on three separate occasions and in 2020 ran for the 7th Congressional District seat in Minnesota.

The Ward 2 race involves incumbent Heather Nesemeier and Moorhead Business Association member Eileen Johnson.

Ward 3 features a clash between current council member Deb White and Dr. Rick Melbye.

Ward 4 councilman Chad Hendrickson is running unopposed, while Ward 1 councilwoman Shelly Dahlquist did not file for re-election. Her seat will be contested by Director of Public Safety at MSUM Ryan Nelson and Inclusive Recruitment and Engagement Specialist at NDSU Siham Amedy.

Election Day is set for Tuesday, November 8th.